How to Change Another Person in 5 Easy Steps

Posted on

Have you always wanted to change someone else but just didn’t know how? Well here are 5 easy steps on how.

1.  You can’t

2.  You can’t

3.  You can’t

4.  You can’t

and step 5 repeat step one.  You can’t.

I know, I know.  I did a bait and switch on you with the title but I think it is a subject that needs to be examined.

First let’s look at the reasons on why we would want to try and change a person or ask them to change.  Sometimes the reasons are selfish ones.  I want him/her to like what I like, I want him/her to have the same goals as me so I can get the life I want, I want him/her to change what they do to benefit me.  Now you may tell yourself your reasons are not meant to be selfish but if you take yourself out of the situation and look at it from the outside you’ll see the reason is not for them but for you.

Then there are loving reasons we want to change a person or ask them to change.  We fear for their well being, we had a wonderful experience and want them to have the same experience, we learned something new and want them to soak in the same knowledge, we want them to be healthy both inside and out, we want them to be happy.

Whatever the reason is, whether it be for selfish or unselfish reasons, it cannot be done.  No matter if it is your spouse, your parent,  your boyfriend/girlfriend, your grown child, your sibling, friend or neighbor.  They all have their own path that they need to follow and experience.  Some paths are paved, are straight forward and have bright signs saying exactly how to get to the destination and some paths are hilly, curvy and riddled with potholes, nevertheless the path is their’s and their’s alone to walk on.

It may scare you that someone you love has chosen the path that looks so difficult to navigate but you have to let go of that fear.

You need to concentrate on your path.  I know how hard this can be.  We love those around us and we want the best for them but the only way to influence those we love is to change our path’s to a path filled with love, joy, happiness, a path that radiates positive energy, a path that will make people say “Wow, I want to experience that”.  Only you can change you and the same goes for others, only they can change themselves.

Instead of trying to change what you can’t about another person try this.  Write down 5 things you love about that person, let them know what you love about them, focus on the good about that person and be a positive influence.

“Be The Change You Wish To See In The World” – Mahatma Gandhi

I am so grateful for my readers!  Thank you!

Carol Hays

Leave a comment